If I want it, I will install it…


an Open letter to Phone Manufacturers

Dear phone makers:

If I want or need your software, I will install your software. I don’t need you to install it for me and then make it sit there on my phone, an unused vector for attack by bad actors. All the little things that make your phone different from other manufacturers…well…they suck.

If you write great software, I will want to install it. That means writing software that does something that I want/need to do. It means writing software that respects my privacy. It means writing software that isn’t repleat with bugs that can be exploited by malware makers. It means software where you explain what it does for me and explain why it needs the permissions it asks for. It means asking for permissions in a respectful way. Permissions should always include always, never, ask every time, for x minutes, only when it is active on the screen, etc.

Your software should never collect or maintain any of my information without respecting the OECD fair information principles (FIPS). Forget your long-winded, convoluted, deceptive privacy policies. Adopt a straight forward privacy policy that is fully compliant with these FIPS and I will be happy.

I know you want to make money. I know you want to differentiate your products from all the rest. But differentiating yourself by installing bloatware…well…that doesn’t seem like a good business model. And besides…I pay for the phone…I pay lots of money for the phone…you have made your money from me. Stop taking me for granted.

I promise…if you write good software…and I need that type of software…I will consider yours when I am deciding whose software to use. However, if you insist on showing such disregard for my wishes, I will have no loyalty to your products and I will do whatever I can do (legally) to minimize your profitability in the market.

Signed,

A really annoyed user…

Leave a comment